San Francisco, USA

front view with sidewalk garden

front view with sidewalk garden


Mitglied seit


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Nicht offen für einen Tausch
Tauschdaten Dauer
February 01, 2022 - December 31, 2022 2 weeks

In 2022 we can exchange almost any time (given enough notice). For Europe based exchanges we'd be interested in two to three weeks duration. Due to Covid we did not travel in '20 or '21.

San Francisco mid victorian with yard, turns out we are not ready yet for '22 exchanges

Our home is a mid victorian wood frame row house with three levels (but the bottom level is rented out). We have three bedrooms, but use one as our yoga room (there is a futon that can be used for sleeping but no furniture in that room). Our third bedroom is setup as our study and guest rooom. It has a pullout couch and attached bathroom and the top deck.

The houses of this time did not have central heat or air. The heat is provided by electric wall units, but we have solar power so electricity usage is not a worry. San Francisco rarely calls for cooling as the ocean keeps us at a year-round 50-70 degrees (F).

You will see from our photos that this is our home, not a rental. It is full of books, music, and various found art.

Also common to victorians of the time is that the rooms are narrow with high celings and large windows. The living room is comfortable and warm. The dinning room has very nice views for the evening time. Our kitchen has a gas stove & oven and a full assortment of pots & pans (lots of cast iron).

There is a deck off the study with great views (when not fogged in). We have a terraced garden with a BBQ pit. It is small but contains 2 olive trees, an avocado, 2 apple, 1 lemon, and a cherry tree along with various roses.

The front sidewalk garden are all decorative native drought tolerant plants except for the dwarf lime tree which gives limes year round.

Erfahren Sie mehr


  • 2 Erwachsene
  • 0 Kind(er)
  • 0 Vollzogene Tausche


  • Emily is a freelance journalist covering art and culture
  • James is a Tech Director at a local foundation

Unser Heim

  • Art des Heims: Haus
  • Angaben zur Umgebung: In der Großstadt
  • Schlafzimmer: 3
  • Badezimmer: 3
  • Schlafplätze: 6
  • Wohnbereich: 1200 sq ft
  • Gesamtfläche: 1400 sq ft

In meinem Haus

  • Haustiere - Erlaubt
  • Kleinkinder - Erlaubt


  • Nicht-gleichzeitiger Tausch
  • Wohnungstausch

Im Haus

  • kostenloser Internet-Zugang
  • Waschmaschine
  • Spülmaschine
  • Wäschetrockner
  • Gitarre


  • Garten
  • (Dach-)Terrasse
  • Grill
  • Fahrräder: 2

Unsere Wunschziele

  • Offen für alle Angebote
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Paris, France
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • Merano, South Tyrol, Italy
  • New Orleans, LA, USA
  • New Mexico, USA
  • Donostia-San Sebastian, Gipuzkoa, Spain

Bevorzugte Sprachen

  • Englisch
  • Französisch
  • Spanisch

Unsere Wohnlage

Nächster Flughafen: SFO - 15 minutes

Our street is very quite but we live within walking distance to all sorts of options. There are lots of grocery stores, coffee shops, and sundries within easy walking distance. About a 20 minute walk West will bring you into the heart of the Mission district. If you go South West to 24th street you'd be in the heart of the old Latino neighborhood where you can join in the much debated choice of where to find the best burrito.

Due West takes you more into the tech worker restaurant and bar scene. Walking East will take you through a small Potrero Hill district and then to Dogpatch along the old water front. Mission Bay is now a highly developed bio-tech research hub. Walking North takes you into SOMA a mixed use neighborhood and then into city center (city hall, main library, symphony, opera). South would take you into Bernal Hill with a great walk up a hill with a great view.

Bicycling is a great option to get around the city and there are lots of routes to avoid the steep hills.

There are also a number of bus connections (#9, 33, 27, 22, and the 19) which will take you or connect you to any location in town.

You can pick up BART for regional transportation at 16th or 24th and Mission.

For a very amusing (and historical) perspective of San Francisco walking and neighborhoods read 'Cool, Grey, City of Love' by Gary Kamiya (a friend of a friend).


  • Emily is a freelance journalist covering art and culture
  • James is a Tech Director at a local foundation


  • Wir haben keine Kinder.


  • Bitte keine Haustiere!

Vorstellungstext über sich bzw. Ihre Familie

Our family is just the two of us. We've lived and worked in San Francisco for a long time. James's background is in non-profit technology. Emily taught at City College for years and has transitioned to a freelance journalist covering primarily arts and culture. You'll notice from the pictures we like books, music, and art.