Zurück
US1016747

Washington DC, USA

Our house, viewed from the front.

Our house, viewed from the front.

Our house, viewed from the front.
Bronze

Mitglied seit

2018

Offen für einen Wohnungstausch

Das Mitglied hat keine Tauschdaten angegeben.

Family home in great walkable neighborhood, easy access to DC sights

Hello! We are a family of four with two small children, age 3 and 5 months old. We live in the Washington, DC area, where I grew up. We're currently looking to set up exchanges in winter 2018/19 (warm weather destination preferred) and summer 2019, either simultaneous or non-simultaneous. We are open to all destinations and dates and love to travel so please reach out if interested!

We love our home and neighborhood and know you will, too. Our house has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and is located in a safe, quiet, family-friendly neighborhood right next to an upscale urban area with shops, restaurants, a movie theater, coffee shops (Starbucks), and grocery stores (Whole Foods). You can walk to everything, which is one reason we moved here. Our house is just 1km (.8mi; a 10-15 minute walk by foot) from a metro stop (Friendship Heights) that will take you downtown to all the Washington, DC museums, the White House, and other attractions in an easy 15 minute metro (subway train) ride. There is a lovely neighborhood park with a playground for children right around the corner from our house.

Our house has four bedrooms (three upstairs, one in the basement), three full bathrooms (one on each level), a fully equipped kitchen open to the dining room, a spacious light-filled living room with fireplace, a family room/office with a large flat screen TV, and a lower level with another living area, bar/sink area, and bedroom (fully renovated in 2016). One of our favorite things about the house is the large wraparound deck (with doors from the kitchen and main level laundry/bathroom), where you can grill/BBQ, eat at the stone table seating 6, relax in the sun or shade, or watch your kids play. Just off the deck we have a small grassy lawn and garden area surrounded by a picket fence, and in the front yard there are two beautiful 100-year-old Sycamore trees.

We enjoy the outdoors and are happy to provide for your use our 3 adult bikes, a two-child bike trailer (capacity for 45kg/ 100 lbs total), a framed backpack for carrying a small child on hikes, several scooters and tricycles, a camping tent, and sleeping bags. We also have plenty of baby and children’s equipment (crib, strollers, high chairs, car seats, etc.), toys, books, and games available for your use.

Our house is very close to some great bike trails, including the 18km/11mi scenic Capital Crescent trail (which goes to the heart of downtown DC and Georgetown). A large swimming pool is about a mile away, and we can provide free passes for our guests. Public tennis courts, several other parks, gyms, and a wonderful library (with children’s play area) are also walking or biking distance from the house. The town of Bethesda, Maryland is just 3km/2mi away and offers many popular restaurants, bars, shops, and other amenities, including a weekend farmers market with live music. A number of hiking trails also are close by (15 minutes to 1 hour by car), including Rock Creek Park, the C&O Canal and Billy Goat Trail, Great Falls National Park, and Sugarloaf Mountain.

The Washington, DC area is very well located for visiting other cities, beaches, and mountain areas and can be a great home base for travel up and down the East Coast: New York City (2.5-3 hours by train, or 4 hours by car or bus -- an inexpensive bus service leaves directly from Bethesda, near our house); Charlottesville, VA (2.5 hours by train or car); Philadelphia, PA (2 hours by train or car); Baltimore, MD (45 minutes by car); Atlantic Ocean beaches (Rehoboth Beach, DE -- 2.5 hours by car); and mountains (Shenandoah National Park -- 2 hours by car).

Our area is especially great for those interested in American history. In addition to all the monuments, museums, and historic houses in Washington, DC, there are many historic places to visit within a short drive from the city: Mount Vernon (George Washington’s home, 30 minutes away); Monticello (Thomas Jefferson’s home, 2.5 hours away); Civil War battlefields -- Gettysburg, Antietam, and Manassas (1-2.5 hours away); Harpers Ferry (1.5-2 hours away); and Williamsburg, VA (3 hours away).

Erfahren Sie mehr

Familie

  • 2 Erwachsene
  • 2 Kind(er)
  • 1 Vollzogene Tausche

Beruf

  • Lawyer
  • Economist

Unser Heim

  • Art des Heims: Haus
  • Angaben zur Umgebung: In einem Vorort
  • Schlafzimmer: 4
  • Badezimmer: 3
  • Schlafplätze: 8
  • Wohnbereich: 2000 sq ft

Referenzen

In meinem Haus

  • Haustiere - Nicht erlaubt
  • Kleinkinder - Erlaubt

Tauschtypen

  • Nicht-gleichzeitiger Tausch
  • Wohnungstausch

Im Haus

  • kostenloser Internet-Zugang
  • Computer benutzbar
  • Klimaanlage
  • Zentralheizung
  • Kamin
  • Babysachen
  • Spiele und Spielzeuge
  • Waschmaschine
  • Spülmaschine
  • Wäschetrockner
  • Fernsehen
  • Klavier
  • Gitarre

Außerhalb

  • Garten
  • (Dach-)Terrasse
  • Spielplatz
  • Grill
  • Garage
  • Fahrräder: 3

Ausstattung

  • Nichtraucher
  • Autotausch/Autobenutzung

Unsere Wunschziele

  • Offen für alle Angebote
  • Hawaii, USA
  • Santa Barbara, CA, USA
  • France
  • Florida, USA
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
  • Occitanie, France
  • New York, NY, USA

Bevorzugte Sprachen

  • Englisch
  • Französisch

Beruf

  • Lawyer
  • Economist

Kind(er)

  • Junge - Alter: 4
  • Junge - Alter: 1

Haustiere

  • Bitte keine Haustiere!

Referenzen

Dieses Mitglied hat bereits 1 Wohnungstausche vollzogen. Hier sind einige Mitglieder, die mit ihm getauscht haben.